6 Fantastic Young Adult Books & Box Sets to Binge Read

Updated: Oct 16, 2021

If you're looking for a new fantasy or sci-fi series or box set to get stuck into then you've come to the right place. Forget Netflix and Amazon Prime, these collections of stories will keep you up way past bedtime and give you all the feels.


Stolen Brides of the Fae

The Stolen Brides of the Fae series is a collection of short, standalone novels by eight incredible fantasy authors, each spinning their own tale that can be read alone, in order or completely out of order - basically, any way you like! There are no rules here.


Ranging from clean and sweet, to a low to medium steam rating with fade to black scenes, so there's something to suit all tastes.


The last book came out in June 2021, so they're ready to be binge read right now. Buy them for those covers alone!

Click on the covers to buy, or click here to add it to your TBR.


A Villain's Ever After

What if the Enchantress fell in love with the Beast?

Or the Sea Witch wasn't so evil?

Suppose the Sorcerer won the Swan Princess's heart?


"A Villain's Ever After" will take you to places where wishes really do come true . . . from a certain point of view. Expect the unexpected as we fall in love with the villains who might not be the "bad guy" after all.

Featuring twelve short novels full of magic, romance, and adventure, you'll see villains in a whole new light.


Who said villains can't have happily-ever-afters?


 

The A Villain's Ever After series brings together twelve gorgeous fairy tale retellings, told from the villain's point of view, by twelve fabulous authors. Just like Stolen Brides of the Fae, these stories can be read in any order or enjoyed on their own.

The first book was released in August 2021, and the final book will come out in October 2021, so this is a series you can start now and read throughout the Autumn.

Click on the covers to buy, or click here to add them to your TBR.


Once Upon a Name

What’s in a name?

Names have power, names have magic, names can set the course for a great destiny.


Once upon a time, twenty author friends accepted a challenge by a fairy tale name generator. Now, twenty new characters have adventurous tales to tell.


In this clean YA anthology, meet goddesses, empresses, countesses, wannabe sorceress apprentices, female leaders of wolf packs, and guardian frog sidekicks. Search for missing persons with a hunter turned detective. Swoon over the sultana who must prove she is fit to rule. Cavort with our demons, wraiths, and demigods and lose your soul to the Bone Marsh. Root for a genie’s freedom or bite your nails as you pray for the witch to get the spell right. And yes, feel your heart palpitate at unexpected romance.


Escape into our strange and unusual collection of short stories written by award-winning and up-and-coming authors. Join us in far-off lands and learn. . .what is in a name.


All proceeds donated to charity in support of reading and literacy.


 

Once Upon a Name is a collection of twenty very short fantasy stories from a group of USA Today bestselling, award-winning, and debut authors, coming April 2022 and available to preorder now.

Inspired by the character names provided by an online fairy tale name generator, the twenty fabulous authors decided to team up and create an anthology of tales based on these characters, and do some good at the same time. All profits from the sale of Once Upon a Name will go to Book Aid International, to help them provide books and build libraries around the world wherever they're most needed.

Click on the cover to preorder, or click here to add it to your TBR.


Enchanted Forests

If you go down to the woods today…

You’d better not go alone…


Discover the secret world between the trees where fairies, unicorns and even monsters dwell. Take a stroll through enchanted woods and dance with pixies and dryads by the light of the stars. Escape Baba Yaga and fall in love with a prince in disguise. Taste the fruit at the goblin market and be whisked away on a magical adventure.

Between ancient trees, find beauty, danger and adventure in these enchanting short stories by award-winning, best-selling, and up-and-coming fantasy authors.


Enchanted Forests is fully illustrated by the talented Elena Shelest.


All profits from this anthology will be donated to charity to support woodland and forest conservation.


 

Enchanted Forests is the hotly anticipated follow-up to Enchanted Waters, bringing together eleven bestselling and up-and-coming fantasy authors to create an anthology of magical woodland tales featuring faeries, dryads, witches, and even a talking raccoon.

Coming July 2022 and available to preorder now, all profits from the sale of Enchanted Forests will go to a forest and woodland conservation charity.

Click on the cover to buy, or click here to add it to your TBR.


Once Upon a Dystopia


Vanity is a crime and Cinderella must wear a mask. The big bad wolf puts on an armored suit to battle extraterrestrials. Rapunzel is forced to claim her throne and right the wrongs of the past. Snow White goes insane in a world where corporations have torn down the forests. Three siblings cross a bridge in a post-apocalyptic wasteland. In a genetically altered society, one different girl will be hunted for her imperfections…


Proudly created by the authors of Dystopian Ink, Once Upon A Dystopia: An Anthology of Twisted Fairy Tales and Fractured Folklore contains twenty stories of fairy tale and folklore retellings that explore dystopian influence in literature. From Science Fiction based futures to Fantasy kingdoms, the message is clear:


One person’s utopia is another’s hell.


For fans of The Twilight Zone, Black Mirror, Hunger Games, and Unwind, the authors from Dystopian Ink teamed up to bring you a collection of tales that distort childhood favorites into dystopian masterpieces.


 

Once Upon a Dystopia is a collection of twenty twisted fairy tales set in dystopian worlds, flipping the usual utopian vibe of traditional fairy stories. If you like your speculative fiction dark and gritty, then you'll find something to love in this anthology.

Rather than feeling like the first chapter of a book or a teaser for the authors' series, these tales are short, sharp and will leave you satisfied, while wishing you could read more (like all the best short stories do!).

Click on the cover to buy it, or click here to add it to your TBR.


Girls of Might and Magic

Find your might. Discover your magic.


A disabled teen tracks down an elusive sea beast. A young, Indian detective finds a magical artifact. A Black teen who can see the dead solves a murder mystery. An Ethiopian girl discovers magical secrets when she is kidnapped by her teacher. A teen survivor of a deadly plague realizes she and her robot companion are not alone.


Across realms, worlds, and dimensions we bring you sixteen fantasy and/or science fiction tales that explore the tribulations of growing up. In Girls of Might and Magic, we aim to put characters of color, characters with disabilities, and LGBTQ+ characters front and center in stories about strength and resilience. Full of diverse characters and #ownvoices authors, the protagonists in these coming-of-age YA adventures will not only discover powerful magic but discover themselves along the way. Don't miss this magical collection of stories about witches, fae, ghosts, vampires, werewolves, jinn, and more!


 

Girls of Might and Magic is another incredible collection of fantasy and sci-fi short stories by sixteen authors, with a focus on sharing diverse and inclusive characters and stories. Set in magical worlds as well as settings from Imperial China to modern day New York, the central theme that ties each story together is coming of age, discovering your own power and autonomy, and overcoming the difficulties and challenges that each character faces, whether that be racism, sexism, disabilities, or their own insecurities.

Click on the cover to buy it, or click here to add it to your TBR.


Flights of Fantasy


Are you ready for an adventure?


Travel to eleven fantastical lands and experience adventure, mystery and romance that will leave your heart pounding for more.


Catch the eye of the prince by dancing at the Christmas ball. Join a vampire coven rebellion and resist a siren's song. Try your hand at being a barista while matchmaking a water nymph and mortal. What could go wrong? Stare down the beasts in the woods, or become a Queen trying to stitch together a life in tatters. Defend children from deadly shadow creatures and try your best not to get eaten. Oh, and you really shouldn't steal that mysterious substance in the lab...


Each adventure is crafted by USA Today Bestselling, award winning, and up and coming authors.

 

The last book on this list is a brand, spanking new collection of short stories by YA SFF authors that you can read by subscribing to this blog! Flights of Fantasy is an exclusive collection of tales from fantasy to sci fi and everything speculative by eleven of your favourite blogger-authors.

Click here to subscribe to this blog by email and download Flights of Fantasy for FREE!


 

This article was written by Lyndsey Hall.

Lyndsey Hall is a UK-based YA fantasy writer and reader, and author of The Fair Chronicles. She writes novels and short stories filled with magic, heart-stopping action and swoon-worthy romance. Pick a cover to find out more.


Occasionally, YA SFF and our bloggers will suggest books and other products we think you might enjoy! To do so, we often use Amazon Affiliate links. What does this mean? It means we get a small percentage of any purchases made through our site links. This is at NO COST to you. Proceeds go toward site costs and promotions. Thank you for supporting us!