top of page

New adult fantasy releases we canNOT wait for!

Updated: Jan 17

It's January, and if you're anything like me, you're planning away AND also super busy: how does that work? Well, I've saved you the time of looking for your next new favourite read. Check out these beauties releasing in 2023 and make sure you follow all these excellent authors as they make 2023 their year!




New Adult Fantasy Books releasing in January 2023


Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo


Release Date: January 10, 2023

Find a gateway to the underworld. Steal a soul out of hell. A simple plan, except people who make this particular journey rarely come back. But Galaxy “Alex” Stern is determined to break Darlington out of purgatory—even if it costs her a future at Lethe and at Yale.









Oracle of Life: The Lords’ Gambit Series Volume One by Katherine D. Graham

NA Dark Epic Fantasy


Release Date: January 17th, 2023


Six fallen lords. Three vengeful goddesses. And one mortal, damned to prophesy for them all. When Nariah, the former Heiress of Ellonai, is exiled due to sharing visions of her people's looming destruction at the hands of the goddesses they serve, she must decide whether to use her 'gifts' to bring six fallen lords to her people's rescue, or leave the kingdom who banished her to their fate.








To Kill A King by Paul Mouchet


Release Date: Feb 4, 2023

It’s hard to kill a king, especially when he’s your father. Lin is no assassin, but the king is a menace who needs to be stopped. Even with the help of a member of the king’s personal guard and a shapeshifter, the task is nigh impossible but she’s going to try anyway.


Get the rest of the series this year too!


Heart of the Covenant by Paul Mouchet


Release Date: March 4, 2023


Mark of the Royals by Paul Mouchet


Release Date: April 1, 2023





New Adult Fantasy Books releasing in February 2023


Secrets in the Streets by Kacey Lee


Release date February 10, 2023


Trapped. Discovered. Totally screwed.


I need to find a way to escape. I had almost gotten away, until The Demon Lord read a report on my blood. Now, he won’t let me out of his sights, to the point where he’s made me move in with him. I need help; I'm still drawn to him. And the temptation is hard to ignore when I keep having dreams about him. Very, very delicious dreams.


No! Bad Serena! Focus.


First, unravel the mystery forming around me, which seems to be tied to my past.

Second, break my new pact with The Demon Lord.

Third, try not to sleep with him.


…Odds really aren’t in my favor. Thankfully, I still have secrets he doesn’t know about. I’m a survivor, and if I must, I’ll kill him to save myself.


Tethered by Elayna R. Gallea


Release date February 13, 2023


What could be worse than an arranged marriage to a vampire prince?


When Luna is sold in an arranged marriage to Sebastian, the Prince of Darkness from Eleyta, she thinks the marriage is the worst part of her week. She's wrong. The pair are forced to Bind to each other, and when things go wrong, they are Tethered.


They must learn to live with each other. Or die.








Wind Across the Silver Blade by Catharine Glen


Release Date: February 14, 2023


A girl with a hidden power. A demon from the past. A god bent on revenge.

Wind Across the Silver Blade is Book 1 of Yokai Bonds, an interconnected Asian fantasy romance series featuring powerful yokai and the brave heroines who steal their hearts. Fans of fated mates, forbidden romances, gods and demons, and time magic will find lots to love in this breathtaking new story.












The Curse of the Dragon Heir by S. R. Breaker


Release Date: February 15, 2023

A rare fae mage with no magic accidentally sets an evil demon free but he may be the key to unlocking her powers…

A thrilling, slow-burn, enemies-to-lovers, closed-door fantasy romance. Perfect for fans of "Throne of Glass" and "Shadow and Bone." Curse of the Dragon Heir is Book 1 in S. R. Breaker’s new fantasy romance series The Dragons of Arcadia.

The second is coming out in October!

The Reign of the Dragon Heir by S. R. Breaker


Release Date: October 3, 2023



New Adult Fantasy Books releasing in March 2023


First up - The Mettle of the MasterMage Kickstarter campaign goes live!


The MasterMage of Oberrot faces the greatest test of her life: losing her magic. Without her powers, how can she rule over the mancers and mages of her world? If she's not a metal mage, then what is she?


Click through and select the green button "Notify me on launch" to be the FIRST to get one of the best bundle deals: when they are gone, they are gone.



Rule of the Aurora King by Nisha J. Tuli


Release Date: March 23, 2022

After being captured by Nadir, the Aurora Prince, Lor must decide whether to trust him as they search for a key to her past and future. While on the run from the Aurora King, Lor vows to bring down the Imperial Fae and discovers that the future of the continent is at stake. "The Rule of the Aurora King" is the second book in the "Artefacts of Ouranos" series and features enemies-to-lovers, fated mates, and fake dating.







Thorn & Ash by R.L. Perez


Release date: March 31, 2022


A ghost, trapped by magic. A prince of Hell, burdened by secrets. A love that was never meant to be.


Thorn & Ash is Book 2 of the Ivy & Bone series, a Hades and Persephone retelling with a twist, full of steamy romance, dark paranormal themes, and allusions to Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of Kingdom of the Wicked and A Touch of Darkness.










New Adult Fantasy Books releasing in April 2023


Choice of the Traveler by Toni Binns


Release Date April 2023

A human caught in a world of Others. A destiny she can’t escape…


Betha transferred to St. Luna’s University in search of a fresh start. Instead, everything she thought she knew is challenged.


Demons invading the world.

The lives of her shifter friends are in jeopardy.

A war between the two sides has begun.


As powers Betha didn’t know she had begin to emerge, hopes of stopping the invasion fall to her. With her best friend, Angie, and two muscle-bound guards by her side, will she be able to unlock the truth of her lineage in time? Or will a cloak of darkness and despair shroud the land?


New Adult Fantasy Books releasing in June 2023

The Keeper of Flames by Joss Walker and R.L. Perez


Release date: June 27, 2023


THE KEEPER OF FLAMES is Book 3 in the award-winning Jayne Thorne, CIA Librarian series.















New Adult Fantasy Books releasing in July 2023


I'm sure we will update this article for July-December of 2023, but just to give you a taster...


A king with a broken crown.

Shay rules from the murky corners of the Topaz Court, a realm not many willingly travel to. It promises only one thing —Death. Duty eats away at the dark king, and as he escorts departed souls to the Otherworld, something—or someone—threatens to taint his kingdom and destroy the magic that sustains it.


A selkie searching for answers.

Seven years ago, Neri's sister disappeared on dry land over the sands. Neri has prepared every day since to follow after her and find what delays her sister's return to the waves.


Death hounds after the selkie. Shay shouldn’t stand in its way; to upset the balance is to risk everything. Not even when her spirit stirs something inside him, something he thought long lost...


As the threat to magic grows, the selkie might be the key. Together, Shay and Neri traverse the realms to save their homes, their families, and perhaps even themselves. Will they succeed, even under the shadow of death?


Coming to paperback 10th July 2023!





 

This article was written by Becky James


Becky James is the author of The King's Swordsman series and the Dark Tides series; based in the UK, she has a deep love of the British countryside, canals, and all things fantasy; she devours anything that has magic, swords, good friends and good times.


https://www.beckyjamesauthor.co.uk/


Recent Posts

See All

Occasionally, YA SFF and our bloggers will suggest books and other products we think you might enjoy! To do so, we often use Amazon Affiliate links. What does this mean? It means we get a small percentage of any purchases made through our site links. This is at NO COST to you. Proceeds go toward site costs and promotions. Thank you for supporting us!

bottom of page