top of page

New Young Adult Books: What's Coming in 2023?

Updated: Jan 6

Happy New Year! Every year, I love building this list-- scrolling through cover reveals and book blurbs, scouring reader groups for discussion on anticipated titles, checking Goodreads lists, and of course, my own Kindle wish list. So, without further ado, here's YA Sci-Fi & Fantasy Addicts official list of 2023's Most Anticipated YA New Releases!







Most Anticipated YA Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books of 2023


The Stolen Heir by Holly Black


Release Date: January 3, 2023


A runaway queen. A reluctant prince. And a quest that may destroy them both. Return to the opulent world of Elfhame, filled with intrigue, betrayal, and dangerous desires, with this first book of a captivating new duology.











Fallen Kingdom (Shadows & Starlight, Book 4) by E.V. Everest


Release Date: May 18, 2023


The final book in the series! A forgotten princess. A dangerous secret. Will she claim her crown before her rivals claim her life? If you loved the royal court intrigue of Cruel Prince and the sci-fi, interstellar twist of Cinder, the Shadows & Starlight series is for you.





The Lady of Rolika: A Frostmarked Tale by Brendan Noble


Release Date: May 16, 2023


A fallen goddess cursed for eternity. An undying sorceress sworn to slay her. Only one can be The Lady of Rolika. A story of revenge, sinister magic, and hope amid the darkness, enter The Frostmarked Chronicles’ world of Slavic mythology with this tale inspired by the legend of Kostroma and Kupalo.








Twice Upon A Name


Release Date: April 20, 2023


Double the name and double the magic, mystery, and mayhem. Once upon a time, a fairy tale name generator issued a challenge to a group of authors. Volume Two of these quirky stories brings double trouble. A clean YA Anthology.









Chain of Thorns by Cassandra Clare


Release Date: January 31, 2023


James and Cordelia must save London—and their marriage—in this thrilling and highly anticipated conclusion to the Last Hours series from bestselling author Cassandra Clare.









False Earth by Cami Murdock Jensen


Release Date: January 31, 2023


Trapped, hunted, and stripped of her magic. Can she save the universe from enslavement and her friends from certain death? The final book in The Arch Mage series, if you love Percy Jackson action and portal fantasies to different worlds, this series will suck you in!









Enslaved by Sylvia Mercedes


Release Date: May 1, 2023


The romance and adventure continues . . . She will sacrifice everything. Even her freedom. But will it be enough?










Brave the Dark (Light of Faerie Book 3) by Allison Rose


Release Date: February 19, 2023


In the face of magical and courtly upheaval, heart-wrenching decisions, tested bonds, and sacrifices, Sevelle, Jae, and Liza must take control—of the courts, of the land, of their powers—and triumph, or Faerie may wither and die. The epic battle of the elements, courts, and ruling generations comes to an end in this edge-of-your-seat conclusion to the Light of Faerie series.







Firestorm (Light of Faerie Book 3.5) by Allison Rose


Release Date: February 19, 2023


This villainous tale continues the stunningly complicated mother-daughter relationship revealed in The Glorious (Light of Faerie Book 2.5) and explores another side of the events that lead to the conclusion of Brave the Dark (Light of Faerie Book 3).










These Infinite Threads by Tahereh Mafi


Release Date: February 7, 2023


The second book in an epic, romantic fantasy trilogy based on Persian folklore. Alizeh is the heir to the Jinn throne and fulfills a long-foretold prophecy of a Jinn sovereign destined to free her people from the half-lives they’ve been forced to live under the rule of humans.










A Duet with the Siren Duke by Elise Kova


Release Date: August 15, 2023


The sea will consume me, if given the chance… Inspired by The Little Mermaid and the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, this stand-alone, fantasy romance is perfect for fans of Danielle L. Jensen, Sarah J. Maas, and Laura Thalassa.












Vampires’ Daughter by Kristen S. Walker


Release Date: February 13, 2023


Heather's parents are vampires, but she's human at least until she turns eighteen. But her world is turned upside-down when she falls in love with a faerie prince. Fae and vampires are mortal enemies. How will she choose between her heart and the immortality that awaits her?