5 Quotes that Will Make You Want to Read Violet Made of Thorns ASAP

Updated: Jul 31



My Spoiler Free Review


Violet Made of Thorns came out of the gate with a strong start! A young seer who is willing to lie, a prince who needs a bride, and a kingdom haunted by the foreboding prophecy from their last seer's death bed.


Boom!


Immediately, I'm wondering is our seer the princes fated bride from the prophecy. Its way too soon to tell!



Who is This Book Best for?

This book is a good pick for fans of:

  • Fairytale Retellings

  • Morally Grey Characters

  • Enemies to Lovers

  • Witches



Favorite Quotes

Some of the quotes in this book are absolutely beautiful. Here are a few of my favorites!


"The best part about being Seer isn’t the tower or the amenities or the access to the king. It’s how easily everyone believes what you say."


“There are no love stories found upon the throne. Only secrets and schemes and spider-fingered kings.”


“I believe in wolves—in con men and crowned men who wear wickedness as if it were a talent. Who don’t ask for judgment before devouring what’s theirs. They know the future is no better than a roll of rigged dice, so they may as well do the rigging."


“Sometimes I want to kiss him and sometimes I want to ruin him, but most of the time, I want those actions to be one and the same.”


“I’ve always known that the queen beside me would be better made of ice than flesh,” he murmurs. “That it would be cruel to love anyone less resilient. But I didn’t expect to find myself so willing.”



About the Book

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Romance Publishing date: July 26th, 2022 Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound


A darkly enchanting fantasy debut about a morally gray witch, a cursed prince, and a prophecy that ignites their fate-twisted destinies—perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove.


Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he’s crowned at the end of the summer—unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus’s love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom—all depending on the prince’s choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that’s growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet’s wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can’t change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom—or doom them all.



About the Author

Gina Chen tells stories about fantastic worlds featuring heroines, antiheroines, and the kind of cleverness that brings trouble in its wake. A self-taught artist with a degree in computer science, she generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. Violet Made of Thorns is her debut fantasy novel. For more info, visit actualgina.com and follow @actualgina on Twitter and Instagram.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Tumblr


Visit the Rest of the Tour


July 25th The Caffeinated Rareder – Review A Realm of Books – Review One More Chapter – Review Rae’s Reading Lounge – Review & Favorite Quotes


July 26th The Book Dutchesses – Promotional Post Metaphors and Miscellanea – Review & Favorite Quotes B for Bookslut – Review PopTheButterfly Reads – Review A Court of Coffee and Books – Review & Favorite Quotes


July 27th Abigail’s Lost in a Book – Review Stuck in the Stacks – Review Pages & Plots – Review Clouded Galaxy Reads – Review & Favorite Quotes


July 28th The Clever Reader – Review We Write at Dawn – Review & Favorite Quotes Confessions of a YA Reader – Review & She Reads – Review Modest Hiccup – 15 Reactions While Reading Violet Made of Thorns


July 29th Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post Brinns Books – Review Kait Plus Books – Journal Spread Books Over Everything – Review


July 30th Binded by Letters – Review dinipandareads – Review & Favorite Quotes Koo’s Reviews – Top 5 Reasons to Read Violet Made of Thorns YA Sci-Fi & Fantasy Addicts – Review & Favorite Quotes Sadie’s Spotlight – Promotional Post


July 31st Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post Gwendalyn’s Books – Review thisbellereadstoo – Review & Mood Board Betwixt The Sheets – Mood Board



 

More Great Books To Check Out


Recent Posts

See All

Occasionally, YA SFF and our bloggers will suggest books and other products we think you might enjoy! To do so, we often use Amazon Affiliate links. What does this mean? It means we get a small percentage of any purchases made through our site links. This is at NO COST to you. Proceeds go toward site costs and promotions. Thank you for supporting us!