150+ YA Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books Set in the United States



YA SFF blog is putting together massive lists of books with settings all around the world! To start off, we put together 150+ books set in the United States (the territories will be included in upcoming Americas post). Check them out below, and if you don't see your favorites, feel free to comment!



Alabama


Hoodoo by Ronald L. Smith


Set amid the swamps, red soil, and sweltering heat of small town Alabama in the 1930s, Hoodoo is infused with a big dose of creepiness leavened with gentle humor.


Check it out here!


The Splendor Falls by Rosemary Clement-Moore


Can love last beyond the grave? Find out in this YA Fantasy that is full of romance, tension, and mystery.


Check it out here!

Alaska


The Wild Lands by Paul Greci


The Wild Lands is a pulse-pounding YA thriller full of shocking plot twists. It’s the ultimate survival tale of humanity’s fight against society’s collapse.


Check it out here!


Hostile Territory by Paul Greci


In Paul Greci’s Hostile Territory, a catastrophic earthquake strands four teens in the Alaskan wilderness—and leaves them without a civilization to return to.


Check it out here!


Our Last Echoes by Kate Alice Marshall


Melissa Albert meets Twin Peaks in this supernatural thriller about one girl's hunt for the truth about her mother's disappearance.


Check it out here!


Crave by Tracy Wolff


A YA Fantasy full of romance, vampires, and fun. Reviewers rave that it is the next Twilight.


Check it out here!


Arizona


Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Beginning of Everything by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland


Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe meets Roswell by way of Laurie Halse Anderson in this astonishing, genre-bending novel about a Mexican American teen who discovers profound connections between immigration, folklore, and alien life.


Check it out here!


Dragon Magic by Ashley McLeo & Kelly N. Jane


Dragon Magic is an upper YA/NA dragon shifter contemporary fantasy adventure novel. If you like loads of action, a slow-burn romance, and characters who will steal your heart, you’ll love Dragon Magic.


Check it out here!


Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos


Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin' in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies.


Check it out here!


Wicked As You Wish by Rin Chupeco


Gripping, fantastical, and delightfully funny, Wicked As You Wish is perfect for readers looking for:

• young adult magic, mythology, and folklore

• LGBTQ representation

• diverse characters

• creative new takes on classic stories

• fresh and dazzling world building


Check it out here!


Arkansas


Eventide by Sarah Goodman


Eventide is an evocative YA historical fantasy thriller by debut author Sarah Goodman, for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray.


Check it out here!


Unleashed by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié


Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie, the New York Times bestselling authors of the Wicked series, have created an entirely new trilogy with the passion of Twilight and the grandeur of Fallen. The Wolf Springs Chronicles introduces readers to a town of secrets and the new girl who's about to start believing in werewolves.


Check it out here!


California


Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas


A trans boy determined to prove he's a brujo to his Latinx family summons a ghost who refuses to leave in Aiden Thomas's paranormal YA debut.


Check it out here!


The Reluctant Witch by Kristen S. Walker


A young witch who just wants to be invisible. A beautiful mermaid who doesn’t belong. A secret relationship that threatens the entire academy.


Check it out here!


The Lost Coast by A.R. Capetta


The spellbinding tale of six queer witches forging their own paths, shrouded in the mist, magic, and secrets of the ancient California redwoods.


Check it out here!


Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs


Don't miss this unforgettable trilogy combining time travel, mystery, and romance with a tough heroine who will do whatever it takes to save the ones she loves.

The future is inevitable...or is it?


Check it out here!


Colorado


Haven Fall by Sara Holland


A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it--at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.


Check it out here!


Girls with Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young


From New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young comes the start of a thrilling, subversive new series about a girls-only boarding school with a terrifying secret and the friends who will stop at nothing to protect each other.


Check it out here!


Elleson by Misha McCorkle


Daisy's father raised her to think differently, to think beyond life in their small town. Maybe that’s why she never fit in, why people keep her at arm’s length. Or maybe it's her scarred face and broken body.


Check it out here!


Spartan Heart by Jennifer Estep


At Mythos Academy, everyone knows exactly who I am: Rory Forseti, Spartan girl and the daughter of Reapers.

New school year, same old problems...


Check it out here!


Connecticut


Sear by Nina Malkin


A promise broken. A bond betrayed. What do you do when an oath of devotion threatens to destroy the one you love? “The drama is high” (Booklist) in this paranormal sequel to Swoon.


Check it out here!


Specter by Katie Jane Gallagher


Stranger Things with a ghostly twist! This gripping, genre-bending debut is a book not to miss.


Check it out here!


The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare


Elizabeth George Speare won the 1959 Newbery Medal for this portrayal of a heroine whom readers will admire for her unwavering sense of truth as well as her infinite capacity to love.


Check it out here!


Reverie by Ryan La Sala


A "joyously, riotously queer" (Kirkus) young adult fantasy from debut author Ryan La Sala, Reverie is a wildly imaginative story about dreams becoming reality, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Laini Taylor.


Check it out here!


Delaware


I couldn't find any Delaware books that were YA sci-fi or fantasy. If you find/or know of a YA sci-fi or fantasy set in Delaware, please comment below and I will add it!


Florida


The Kindred by Alechia Dow


To save a galactic kingdom from revolution, Kindred mind-pairings were created to ensure each and every person would be seen and heard, no matter how rich or poor…


Check it out here!


Breathe and Count Back from Ten by Natalia Sylvester


In this gorgeously written and authentic novel, Verónica, a Peruvian-American teen with hip dysplasia, auditions to become a mermaid at a Central Florida theme park in the summer before her senior year, all while figuring out her first real boyfriend and how to feel safe in her own body.


Check it out here!


Howl by Shaun David Hutchinson


From critically acclaimed Shaun David Hutchinson comes a gritty and raw portrayal of the oftentimes traumatic experience of growing up.


Check it out here!


Lobizona by Romina Garber


"Garber’s gorgeous novel combines the wonder of a Hogwarts-style magic school with the Twilight-esque dynamics of a hidden magical species that has strict rules about interacting with the human world." - BOOKLIST (Starred Review)


Check it out here!


Georgia


The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater


Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.


Check it out here!


Fallen by Lauren Kate


Read FALLEN, the worldwide sensation that's both dangerously exciting and darkly romantic.


Check it out here!


Seven Crowns by E.V. Everest


Travel to a glittering, dangerous world with political alliances and ballgowns, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Cinder.


Check it out here!


One Foot in the Grave: An Almost Zombie Tale by Shanti Krishnamurty


It's the summer after graduation, and all Isis wants to do is hang out and party with her friends. Unfortunately, her boyfriend has other plans. When a fun trip to Savannah leaves her with a bite mark on her neck and a strange craving for raw brains, her journey of self-discovery begins in the weirdest place imaginable: a rundown church full of misfits, all struggling to fit in.


Check it out here!


Hawaii


Rise of the Mano by Leialoha Humpherys


The alchemist, the messenger, and the true king must join together and destroy soran, the island’s ancient pools of long life and immunity. Will the three heroes put aside their differences to unify, or will they fall apart, along with the rest of the island?


Check it out here!


Lehua by Leialoha Humpherys


Lehua is inspired by the story of Rapunzel, as well as Hawaiian mythology, folklore, and culture. Fans of clean romance and happily ever afters will be moved by Lehua, the first book in The Enchanted Hawai‘i Collection, a fairy tale and folklore retelling series set in ancient Hawaii.


Check it out here!


The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig


The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility. Its sparkling wit, breathless adventure, multicultural cast, and enchanting romance will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir and Leigh Bardugo.


Check it out here!


The Islands at the End of the World by Austin Aslan


In this fast-paced survival story set in Hawaii, electronics fail worldwide, the islands become completely isolated, and a strange starscape fills the sky. Leilani and her father embark on a nightmare odyssey from Oahu to their home on the Big Island. Leilani's epilepsy holds a clue to the disaster, if only they can survive as the islands revert to earlier ways.


Check it out here!


Idaho


Dead America - Idaho Pt. 1 by Derek Slaton


After depleting an alarming amount of resources securing Seattle from the undead menace, Captain Kersey and his elite team of soldiers embark on a mission to Boise, Idaho in search of a reliable source of ammunition.


Check it out here!


Nemesis by Brandan Reichs


Orphan Black meets Lord of the Flies in this riveting new thriller from the co-author of the Virals series.


Check it out here!


Illinois


Divergent by Veronica Roth


This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent series of books is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.


Check it out here!


Runebinder by Alex R. Kahler


Runebinder is wall-to-wall elemental magic and mayhem. Alex R. Kahler knows how to rock some socks.” —Kendare Blake, New York Times bestselling author of Three Dark Crowns


Check it out here!


The Guardian of the Palace by Steven Morris


Everyone knows magic isn’t real.

Alien invaders? Ha!

But something destroyed an entire skyscraper in a never-before-seen implosion. One skeptical security guard stands between monsters and magic that threaten the world.


Check it out here!


Rise of Midnight by Sara A. Freites


Helping vampires send a demon back to hell wasn't how Autumn thought she'd spend spring break.


Check it out here!


Indiana


Stranger Things: Rebel Robin by A. R. Capetta


High school is a monster, and it's eating everyone Robin knows. Discover the backstory of the new Stranger Things fan favorite character, Robin, played by Maya Hawke!


Check it out here!


Iowa


Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith


In the small town of Ealing, Iowa, Austin and his best friend, Robby, have accidentally unleashed an unstoppable army. An army of horny, hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises that only want to do two things.


Check it out here!


Kansas